Tags

,

Sometimes I set out to debunk a myth about an 18th century item, and at other times, I’m quite surprised by what I find when looking at a particular item. This is one of those times. When I started looking at paintings (18th c. or earlier) to examine baskets, I expected to find strong utilitarian vessels that would stand the test of time. I did find those, but I also found a great many fancier baskets of designs I didn’t expect.

I find when I post an article readers sometimes take the information quite literally, so let me explain, my focus here is on the somewhat less than utilitarian baskets intended to hold or carry light weight objects, but the strong sturdy baskets were also used for heavier loads. Our choice in baskets should match our purpose when purchasing one. Let’s have a look, shall we?

A-Kitchen-Interior-xx-Quiringh-Gerritsz-van-Brekelenkam-a1
Quiring Gerritsz van Brekelenkam

siftingthepast_boy-with-a-basket-of-bread_baschenis-evaristo_1665
Boy with Basket of Bread, Baschenus-Evaristo, 1665

siftinthepast_the-watercress-girl_smith_1780
The Water-cress Girl, 1780

siftingthepast_still-life-with-fruit-and-sugar-loaf_unknown_about-1720
Still Life with Fruit, about 1720, author unknown

siftingthepast_fishmongers-stall_nebot_1737
Nebo, 1737, A Fishmonger’s Stall

north_italian_school_18th_century_a_basket_of_dead_birds_a_mallard_and_d5350913h
An 18th Century Italian painting of an obviously utilitarian basket

italian_school_18th_century_apples_in_a_wicker_basket_with_a_pear_on_a_d5613338h
This is an 18th century Italian painting sold in 2012 by Christie’s

Dreaming Shepherdess, Francois Boucher
Dreaming Shepherdess, Francois Boucher

737px-Girl_with_a_Basket_of_Pamphlets
Girl with a Basket of Pamphlets

DGA601039
18th Century, Annonymous French painter

