Tags

As I sat here munching on the salad I brought for lunch, picked fresh from my garden, I was really patting myself on the back for eating so healthy – until my eye wandered to the list of ingredients on the bag of croutons I’d sprinkled on it. My garden is small, out of necessity for my small yard, but it has kept me supplied in Parris Island Cos, beet greens, basil, arugula, and tomatoes for salads this summer. Other than Miracle Grow, it’s all grown quite well with no “stuff” sprayed, shaken, or sprinkled on it so why did I feel a need to add croutons with ingredients I can neither pronounce nor decipher?

High fructose corn syrup; maltodextrin, calcium propionate, calcium peroxide, calcium sulfate, ascorbic acid, azodicarbonamide, sodium stearoyl, lactylate, artificial flavor, and TBHQ – doesn’t that sound just yummy? Not.

The croutons in their bright green shiny bag are now in my trash can. With a picture of fresh parsley, Parmesan cheese, onion, garlic, and a loaf of white bread the image on the package is wholesome looking enough, but the list of ingredients which came out of the bag are pure garbage.

It is easy to see why our ancestors were more fit than we are today. They exercised more, and they did not fill their bodies with preservatives and artificially produced ingredients. As a general rule, the more processed something is, the worse it is for you. Next time I’ll add some sunflower seeds or walnuts. I can pronounce the ingredients in those. Blissful Meals, yall. ©

